Dáil Éireann - Volume 661 - 24 September, 2008

Written Answers. - Departmental Agencies.

Deputy Joan Burton asked the Minister for Foreign Affairs the total payroll and the total financial package including basic salary, performance, other bonuses and pension entitlements of the chief executive officer of every public agency or quango under the aegis of his Department; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [30614/08]

  Deputy Micheál Martin: There are four bodies operating under the aegis of my Department. Details on these four bodies are set out below: Development Education Advisory Committee was established in 2003 following the recommendations of the Ireland Aid Review Committee. Its purpose is to advise the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Minister of State for Overseas Development and Irish Aid on policy regarding development education; Government Emigrant Services Advisory Committee (previously known as Díon) was set up in 1984 to advise the Government on the welfare of the Irish community in Britain. The Committee’s primary role is to advise on the distribution of Government financial support to voluntary agencies providing front line services and community care to Irish people in Britain; the Advisory Board for Irish Aid was established in August 2002 to provide general oversight and advice to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and the Minister of State for Overseas Development on the strategic direction of the Government’s programme of assistance to developing countries; and the Fulbright Commission (The Board of the Ireland — United [571] States Commission for Educational Exchange) finances study, research, teaching and other educational activities between Ireland and the United States of America.

Three of these bodies are Advisory Committees, serviced by the staff of my Department and, therefore, have no Chief Executive. The management of the Fulbright Commission, to which my Department provides an annual grant in aid, enjoys full autonomy of management and administration in accordance with the Educational Exchange (Ireland and the United States of America) Act, 1991.