Dáil Éireann - Volume 640 - 31 October, 2007

Written Answers. - EU Funding.

Deputy Joe McHugh asked the Tánaiste and Minister for Finance the mechanisms that have been agreed upon to facilitate the distribution of funding under the forthcoming INTERREG programme; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [26435/07]

  Deputy Brian Cowen: The ERDF-funded INTERREG programmes aim to address the economic and social disadvantage that can result from the existence of a border. During the period 2007-2013 these programmes will take place under the EU’s European Territorial Cooperation Objective 3. During this period Ireland will participate in all of the three strands of the Objective 3 programmes, cross-border, transnational, and interregional.

Ireland will participate in two cross-border programmes, the Ireland/Northern Ireland/ Western Scotland Programme, and the Ireland/Wales Programme. The aim of the Ireland/Northern Ireland/Western Scotland Programme is to support strategic cross-border cooperation for a more prosperous region and improve access to services to enhance the quality of life. This Programme will have EU funding of €192 million. The Ireland/Wales Programme is primarily a maritime cross-border programme the aim of which is to achieve a sustainable development by a progressive integration of local economic, social and environmental development. The Programme will have EU funding of €52.7 million.

Ireland will participate in three transnational programmes. These are the Atlantic Area Programme which will include Ireland, UK, parts of west France, northern Spain and Portugal. The programme will have EU funding of €104 million. The North West Europe Programme will include Ireland, the UK, northern France, Benelux countries and part of Germany. The programme will [1253] have EU funding of €335 million. The Northern Periphery Programme will include the south and west coast of Ireland, Northern Ireland, part of Scotland, parts of Sweden and Finland and the non-Member States of Greenland, Iceland and Faroe Islands. The programme will have EU funding of €35 million. Finally, Ireland will participate in the interregional Programme which covers all 27 EU Member States as well as Norway and Switzerland. The programme will have EU funding of €321 million.