Dáil Éireann - Volume 476 - 25 March, 1997

Written Answers. - Ministerial Appointments.

241. Mr. Callely asked the Minister for Education the appointments made by her to State boards and State agencies under the aegis of her Department since she took office. [7989/97]

Minister for Education (Ms Bhreathnach): The information requested by the Deputy since I took office under the present Administration is contained in a tabular statement which I propose to circulate in the Official Report.

Name of Body


Advisory Council for English Language Schools

Ms Maura Clancy

Prof. Terence Dolan

Mr. Liam O'Connell

Mr. Eoin O'Brien

Mr. P. McGrath

Ms Hilary McElwaine

Ms Pauline Daly

Ms Patsy O'Connell

Ms Angela Power


Mr. Martin Rouine

Ms Vera Kelly

Mr. William Byrne

Ms Martha Feeney

Mr. Brian Ingoldsby

Ms Siobhan Broughan

Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies — Council

Prof. Dervilla Donnelly

Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies— School of Celtic Studies

Mr. Breandán Ó Madagáin

Máire P. Ní Chatháin

Muireann Ní Bhrolcháin

Máire Ní Neachtain

Mr. Alan Harrison

Ms Una Ní Bheirne

Mr. Cormac Ó Gráda

Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies— School of Cosmic Physics

Prof. Aftab Khan

Máire F. Mulcahy

Maria T. Lago

Mr. Peter Carroll

Mr. Brian Harvey

Ms Helena Sheehan

Ms Marie O'Connor

Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies— School of Theoretical Physics

Ms Cathleen Morawetz

Ms Ann C. Breslin

Prof. James Dooge

Prof. T.D. Spearman

Mr. William J. Reville

Mr. Jim Browne

Mr. Alex Montwill

Mr. Brendan Finnucane

Ms Niamh Marshall


Mr. Michael Webb

Ms Norma Smurfit

Ms Eileen Desmond

Mr. Simon Nugent

Ms Eleanor O'Brien

Ms Kathleen O'Sullivan

Mr. Hugh McConville

Mr. Brian Collinge

Mr. Kevin Dowling

Sr. Joan Bowles

Mr. Martin Brett

Mr. Thomas Collins

Mr. John Connell

Ms Patricia Gosch

Higher Education Authority (HEA)

Dr. Aodhgan Roddy

Dr. Ailbhe Smyth

Prof. Kieran Byrne

Dr. Geraldine O'Brien

Prof. Thomas Rafferty

Mr. Sean McCarthy

Ms Gena Menzies

Ms Geraldine Farrell

Mr. Eamonn Tuffy

Mr. Malacy Stephens

Mr. Fintan O'Toole

Dr. Margaret Quinn

Irish Sports Council

John Treacy

Liam Mulvihill

Gina Menzies

Mary Davis

Dermot Sherlock

Pat Duffy

Syd Millar

Joe Connolly

Anne Egan

Donie Butler


Tim Nyhan

Kieran Dowd

Tim O'Connor

Denis McSweeney

Siobhan Tyrrell

Institiúid Teangeolaiochta Eireann

Ms Cliona de Bhaldraithe Marsh


Mr. Vincent Wrynn

Mr. Ken Whyte

Mr. Olan Dwyer

Mr. Mike Egan

Ms Anna Gunning

Ms Teresa O'Grady-Peyton

Ms Rose Malone

Ms Maura Clancy

National Centre for Guidance in Education (NCGE)

Mr. Ed Riordan

Rev. John Dunne

Ms Elizabeth Watters

Mr. Jim Mullen

Ms Colette Zaiden

Ms Celia McMurphy

Ms Joan Walshe

Mr. John McCarthy

National Coaching and Training Centre

Ger Canning

Geraldine Barniville

Pat Duffy

Yvonne Galligan

Pat Hickey

Sheila Hickey

Phil Jakeman

Eddie Keher

Ronnie Long

Jim McKeever

John O'Connor

Ciaran O'Neill

Carmel Vekins

Jim Wills

National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA)

Dr. Tom Murphy

Dr. Caroline Hussey

Sr. Pat Murray

Mr. Tom Gilmore

Sr. Betty Foley

Dr. Sinead Bhreathnach

Mr. John McKay Association

Fr. Gerard McNamara

Dr. Kenneth Milne

Mr. John White

Mr. Sean Higgins

Mr. Tom Creedon

Ms. Rose Malone

Ms. Sally Shields

Mr. John Carr

Mr. Eugene Wall

Ms Eileen Sweeney

Mr. Oliver Donoghue

Mr. Tom Kilraine

Ms Fionnula Kilfeather

Mr. Seán Mitchell

Mr. Pat Burke

Ms Deirdre O'Keeffe

National Council for Educational Awards (NCEA)

Mr. Frank Smyth

Ms Mary Flynn

Ms Patricia Carey

Prof. Noel Sheridan

Mr. Liam Kelly

Dr. Mary Upton

Mr. John Sheehan

Mr. Martin Lohan

Mr. Séamus Puirseal


Mr. Tony Diffely

Mr. Frank Smyth

Mr. Tom Cullivan

Ms Catherine Meenan

Mr. Malcolm Byrne

Ms Ann Murphy

Prof. Noel Sheridan

Ms Claire Sinnot

Ms Mary Hosey

Mr. John Sheehan

Mr. Chris Curran

Prof. Dermot McAleese

Ms Mary Flynn

Mr. Michael O'Donnell

Dr. Paraic James

Dr. Columb Collins

Mr. Martin Lohan

Mr. Paddy Murray

Ms Noreen Kearney

Ms Patricia Carey

National Council for Vocational Awards. (NCVA)

Prof. Joyce O'Connor

Mr. B. Griffin

Mr. Kieran O'Beirne

Ms Mary Bohan

Mr. J. McKay

Mr. Liam MacGabhann

Secondary Teachers Registration Council

Tadhg Uas O Ruairc

Ms Maura Clancy

Teastas — Irish National Certification Authority

Mr. Richard Langford

Mr. Michael Enright

Ms Veronica Gaffey

Ms Caroline Hussey

Mr. Pat Lunny

Ms Fiona McAuley

Mr. Declan Madden

Ms Marie Moynihan

Mr. David O'Connor

Mr. Séamus O'Buachalla

Ms Patricia O'Donovan

Mr. Dermot Stokes

Ms Jean Tansey

Ms Mairéad Wrynn

242. Mr. Callely asked the Minister for Education the persons appointed by her or by the Ministers of State at her Department as programme managers, advisers, assistants or back-up staff, either in her Department or in constituency offices; the annual remuneration paid to these staff; the names of individuals, groups or companies which have undertaken or have been approved to undertake full-time, part-time or casual consultancies, reviews, examinations, analyses or any public relations service on her behalf or on behalf of the Ministers of State at her Department; and the full costs in respect of these to her Department. [8004/97]

Minister for Education (Ms Bhreathnach): The information requested by the Deputy on the programme managers, advisers and other staff appointed by me or my Minister of State is as follows:



Minister for Education

Patrick Keating

Programme Manager

Elizabeth Rock

Special Advisor

Sineaid Bruton

Press Officer

Máire Doyle

Personal Assistant

Johanna O'Toole

Personal Secretary

Minister of State — Bernard Allen T.D.

Thomas Daly

Special Advisor

Denis Reading

Personal Secretary

Martina O'Callaghan

Personal Assistant

Total Annual Remuneration


I would refer the Deputy to my reply to Parliamentary Questions Nos. 151 and 152 of 5 March 1997 which gave details of the relevant information in relation to consultancies, reviews, reports, etc., carried out for my Department since I took up office in January 1993. The position in regard to public relations services is as follows:

Name of Company




Fleishman, Hilliard Saunders Ltd.



Aidan Meade Ltd.

Media Presentation


Slattery P.R. Ltd.

Irish Sports Council


Bill O'Herlihy Communications Group

Department P.R.