Dáil Éireann - Volume 457 - 18 October, 1995

Ceisteanna—Questions. Oral Answers. - Committee on Island Development.

14. Mr. B. Ahern asked the Taoiseach the Departments represented on the Committee on Island Development; [380] whether State agencies, local development organisations and local community and voluntary groups are represented on the committee; if not, the manner in which their views are represented; the reason it has been found necessary to redraft the committee's report: and if he will make a statement on the matter. [15100/95]

Minister of State at the Department of the Taoiseach (Mr. Carey): The following Departments comprise the membership of the Interdepartmental Co-ordinating Committee on Island Development: Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Defence, Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht, Education, Enterprise and Employment, Environment, Equality and Law Reform, Finance, Health, Marine, Social Welfare, Taoiseach, Tourism and Trade and Transport, Energy and Communications.

The committee's terms of reference are:

to review and prioritise development strategies and recommend on actions to ensure a co-ordinated approach to all aspects of island development, including the question of structural relationships.

Since its re-establishment under my chairmanship early this year the committee has reviewed the work done since its inception in June 1993. Careful consideration has been given to ensuring that the report has a long-term strategic focus and especially to addressing those issues which are of particular relevance to island communities. Consultations with organisations and individuals, including those from local development organisations and community groups, have also been taken into account in drawing up the report. The committee is currently in the process of finalising its report and it is expected that it will be completed at the end of this month for presentation to Government prior to publication.

Mr. B. Ahern: I thank the Minister for his reply.

[381] An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: That concludes questions to the Taoiseach.