Dáil Éireann - Volume 418 - 29 April, 1992

Ceisteanna-Questions. Oral Answers. - Law Reform Commission Membership.

6. Mr. Allen asked the Taoiseach the reason a greater number of lay persons have not been appointed on the newly appointed Law Reform Commission.

The Taoiseach: The requirements for membership of the Law Reform Commission are set out in section 3 (7) of the Law Reform Commission Act, 1975, [1977] which provides that the five persons who comprise the Commission must be suitable qualified by the holding of judicial office, by experience as a barrister or solicitor or as a teacher of law or by reason of such other special experience, qualification or training as is appropriate having regard to the functions of the Commission.

Those functions are prescribed by the Act as being to keep the law under review and to examine and conduct research with a view to reforming the law and to formulate proposals for law reform. That is why three of the four ordinary members of the Commission (who were recently re-appointed by the Government for a further term) are lawyers, the fourth being a senior psychologist.

An Ceann Comhairle: Let us now proceed to questions for priority. Fifteen minutes only is provided for these questions under Standing Orders.