Dáil Éireann - Volume 388 - 14 March, 1989

Priority Questions and Private Members' Time: Motion.

Minister of State at the Department of the Taoiseach (Mr. V. Brady): I move:

That the Order of the Dáil of 16th June, 1987, in relation to Priority Questions and Private Members' Time, as amended by Orders of the Dáil of 17th December, 1987, 29th June, 1988, and 15th December, 1988, is hereby amended by the substitution of “until the adjournment of the Dáil [624] for the Summer Recess, 1989” for “until the adjournment of the Dáil for the Easter Recess, 1989.”

Mr. D. O'Malley: I am opposed to this motion, not with regard to Questions but on the matter of Private Members' Time. As the third largest party in this House we are now in the position that the best we can hope to obtain in terms of Private Members' Time is two sessions each year. That is totally inadequate and prevents this party and other of the smaller Opposition parties from exercising their due rights in this House. It is particularly regrettable in the context of the abandonment of Private Members' Business this week——

An Ceann Comhairle: I note the Deputy's objection but I must point out to him that it was earlier agreed on the Order of Business that this matter would be taken without debate.

Deputies: No.

An Ceann Comhairle: We can, of course, have a vote on the matter if the Deputy so desires but the House has already decided that this matter shall be taken without debate.

Mr. Molloy: It is being guillotined.

An Ceann Comhairle: Is the motion agreed?

Deputies: No.

An Ceann Comhairle: I am putting the Question: “That item No. 7 in respect of Priority Questions and Private Members' Time be agreed.”

Question put.

The Dáil divided: Tá, 103; Níl, 28.

Abbott, Henry.

Ahern, Bertie.

Ahern, Dermot.

Ahern, Michael.

[625]Barry, Peter.

Begley, Michael.

Birmingham, George.

Boland, John.

Boylan, Andrew.

Brady, Gerard.

Brady, Vincent.

Brennan, Matthew.

Brennan, Séamus.

Browne, John.

Bruton, John.

Bruton, Richard.

Byrne, Hugh.

Calleary, Seán.

Carey, Donal.

Conaghan, Hugh.

Connaughton, Paul.

Connolly, Ger.

Cooney, Patrick Mark.

Cosgrave, Michael Joe.

Cowen, Brian.

Creed, Donal.

Crowley, Frank.

Daly, Brendan.

Davern, Noel.

Deasy, Austin.

Deenihan, Jimmy.

Dempsey, Noel.

de Valera, Síle.

Doherty, Seán.

Doyle, Avril.

Dukes, Alan.

Ellis, John.

Enright, Thomas.

Fahey, Frank.

Fahey, Jackie.

Farrelly, John V.

Fitzgerald, Liam.

Fitzpatrick, Dermott.

Flaherty, Mary.

Flanagan, Charles.

Flynn, Pádraig.

Foley, Denis.

Gallagher, Denis.

Gallagher, Pat the Cope.

Geoghegan-Quinn, Máire.

Griffin, Brendan.

Haughey, Charles J.

Andrews, David.

Aylward, Liam.

Barnes, Monica.

Barrett, Michael.

[626]Hegarty, Paddy.

Higgins, Jim.

Hilliard, Colm Michael.

Hussey, Gemma.

Hyland, Liam.

Jacob, Joe.

Kenny, Enda.

Kirk, Séamus.

Kitt, Michael P.

Kitt, Tom.

Lawlor, Liam.

Leonard, Jimmy.

Leyden, Terry.

Lowry, Michael.

Lynch, Michael.

Lyons, Denis.

McGahon, Brendan.

McGinley, Dinny.

Mitchell, Gay.

Mooney, Mary.

Morley, P.J.

Moynihan, Donal.

Naughten, Liam.

Nealon, Ted.

Nolan, M.J.

Noonan, Michael. (Limerick East)

Noonan, Michael J. (Limerick West)

O'Brien, Fergus.

O's Dea William Gerard.

O'Donoghue, John.

O'Hanlon, Rory.

O'Keeffe, Batt.

O'Keeffe Jim.

O'Kennedy, Michael.

O'Leary, John.

O'Rourke, Mary.

O'Leary, John.

Roche, Dick.

Roche, Dick.

Smith, Michael.

Stafford, John.

Swift, Brian.

Treacy, Neol.

Wallace, Dan.

Walsh, Seán.

Woods, Michael.

Wright, G.V.


Bell, Michael.

Clohessy, Peadar.

Colley, Anne.

Cullen, Martin.

De Rossa, Proinsias.

Desmond, Barry.

Gibbons, Martin Patrick.

Harney, Mary.

Higgins, Michael D.

Howlin, Brendan.

Kavanagh, Liam.

Keating, Micheal.

Kemmy, Jim.

Kennedy, Geraldine.

McCartan, Pat.

McCoy, John S.

McDowell, Michael Alexander.

Mac Giolla, Tomás.

Molloy, Robert.

O'Malley, Desmond J.

O'Malley, Pat.

O'Sullivan, Toddy.

Pattison, Séamus.

Quinn, Ruairí.

Spring, Dick.

Stagg, Emmet.

Taylor, Mervyn.

Wyse, Pearse.

Tellers: Tá, Deputies V. Brady and D. Ahern; Níl, Deputies Kennedy and Colley.

[627] Question declared carried.